2004-01-18

Dressy

What a day. I feel like I have hiked the entire length of the appalachian trail, when all that happened today was bridal gown shopping.

I had two appointments today, and Christy went with me. The first one was at a "discount" bridal warehouse of sorts, and as soon as the doors opened to that place, it was like a mad rush of people. Once inside, we were told that we were only allowed to try on five gowns that day, and to choose wisely. Most of the gowns were of the sparkly, beaded, and sequined variety, with plenty of puff and tulle. Gag. The price tags were quite hefty too, considering this was a discount place. Once I was corralled into a dressing room and handed a special corset/bra/torture device to wear under the gown, I tried on three utterly awful dresses. One was so full and puffy, that I felt like I had popped out of a musical jewelry box. I made a face, and my assigned consultant was not amused. I really think she had no interest in me anyway, considering the dresses I picked had small price tags. I did try on one there that I liked alot. It was simple and sexy. Christy called me a doily, because it was chantilly lace. It was really too expensive, though.

Then, we went to the second place. It was also a mad house, but I tried on two dresses that I liked very much. One of them I liked so much, that I actually bought it. (!) I wore it for probably fifteen minutes. I stood there looking at it, and the mother's of other brides were coming over to me saying "Wow. That's stunning on you." and "What a beautiful dress. So simple." It was strange. It is beautiful, too. It looks like a dress that a greek goddess would wear. Not a typical wedding dress at all. The consultant looked very upset when I told her that I didn't plan on wearing a veil or a *shudder*...tiara. I have nothing against tiaras mind you, I'm just not a fucking pretty-pretty princess, so it doesn't really fit me.

The dress fits me, though. It's lovely.