2005-02-21

Tank you

Today was pretty surreal in several ways. It was my last day at work, which had a weird feel to it. My boss and his wife gave me a "good luck" card. Those two are so hard to understand sometimes. One day, I'm their best friend, another day, I'm a peon. It's been like that for the past year. I turned in my key, and counted the drawers for the last time. I said goodbye to Howard, a loyal customer who always smells of lemon verbena. I made orders knowing that I wouldn't be around by the time they came in. I ended this work relationship feeling like the past year has been a minor annoyance, rather than what it really was- a way to pay my bills.
Also in the surreal department was the weather. It was super muggy today, with thick black skies. Ominous clouds gave way to big ol' golf ball sized hail. The warning sirens went off, which added an extra air of creepiness. Tornado weather, but without the tornados.
Tomorrow I have a million and two things to do, business wise. I will attempt to make this thing happen, and so will Ken. Hopefully we will not tank. No tanking.