2001-10-07

Dragon Hills

My first Pagan festival was yesterday. Indira has been harassing me for months to go to this thing, so I decided to go. Most people go to camp for the weekend, but Christy and I made it a day trip. You see, as much of a nature lover as I am, I don't really want to go without a real toilet. Or a hairdryer. And as Christy said, "Christy don't camp!" So, we drove down to south Georgia to a cow farm with a lot of land called Dragon Hills. It is very pretty there, but the wind was blowing something crazy, and it was pretty chilly. I was expecting there to be a lot of vendors and workshops for us to utilize, but the vendors were mostly crap. Okay, not really crap, but not as much stuff as I expected I guess. We did have fun hanging out with Indira and her husband Blake, Julie and Chris, Clove and Beth, and a weird blast from my awful past, Ryan. Have you ever ran into someone you knew a long time ago, and at first you are not sure where you know them? This happened when this guy walked down to the campsite and Blake intruduced us. I said, "Hey, I know you!" That's when I realized he was an old co-worker of my ex boyfriends, from five years ago. Since this was the ex boyfriend who had beaten the shit out of me and basically held me mentally captive for four years, it made me feel a little funny being faced with someone from that time period. Ryan was a nice guy, it has nothing to do with him, it just reminded me of that whole time, is all. Everybody there was very cool, and fun to hang out with.

I only took a few shots of the people there, including the dude wearing spandex and horns. There was not much nudity, considering it was so cold, at this clothing optional festival. The clothing of choice there seemed to be cloaks. The constant drumming off in the distance gave everything a calm feel. A relaxing day, I will say, but I am not going to pay money for that again. I would rather just hang out with those guys closer to home, and closer to a potty that isn't an outhouse.

And I still have the same headache as yesterday! Damnit! I better go see the chiropractor tomorrow.