2005-02-07

I'm special alright.

Well, our next big step for the business was certainly filled with pain-in-the-ass annoyances. And actual pain. And lots of wasted money. First, we went and purchased all of the shelving for the warehouse. We had to rent a truck to haul them, which was one of those $19 per hour pick up trucks. We planned on paying $19 for it. What we had not planned on was getting the truck stuck in the mud after dropping off the shelving. You should have seen us out there, putting wood planks under the tires, stuffing mulch around them, trying to get the damn thing to budge. It was unbelievable. We ended up having to call a tow truck to pull it out of the mud, which cost an insane amount of $175. Then, the truck was several hours late, so that cost $60. Quite an expensive evening.
So, today we were putting our nice shelves together, and all was well until I decided to try and pry something open with a utility knife. Ken's warning rang in my ears, "Be careful, babe" just as I sliced the shit out of my hand. So, the whole afternoon was spent at the hospital getting stitches. I happened to be wearing my Ralph Wiggum "I'm special!" shirt at the time. How appropriate.
As you can plainly see, it hurt like a MoFo:

It's my dominant hand, too. I use my left hand for everything! This is going to be a very annoying recovery. I did luck out at the hospital, though. They happened to be out of tetnus. They ran out of tetnus! Because I felt the four novicane shots and the stitches were plenty for one day, I was happy to hear the news of the big tetnus shortage. hey, the blade wasn't rusty or anything. Heh.
But the shelving is up now. Now all we have to do is stock the shelves, finish the website, and hope the people buy from us! Well, that list is a tad abbreviated. We actually have about 226 other things to do before opening day. But that's fine. The worst must be over, right? Or do some bones need to be broken first?