2005-06-06

Maybe I should get a mouth guard or something.

Back in February we had eleven trees removed from our property. Eleven old pine trees that were most likely home to lots of wildlife, and made our yard look lush and green. Many of them were diseased or dead, and they swayed horrifically during storms, dropping big limbs into our yard on many occasion. Not wanting to risk being crushed in our bed by one of these massive trees, we decided to clear some of them out. It was very sad for me, but we do still have plenty more. We had pines removed, and kept the hardwoods.
So this afternoon it started pouring rain, along with some massive thunder and lightening. It stormed for all of ten minutes. During that ten minutes, a big hardwood tree fell in our yard, just missing the house! Motherfucker. Now we have this big ass tree to deal with. That's more money we have to spend to have it cut up and hauled off. Better than being crushed in our sleep, for sure, but come on!
Anyway.
It's been quite a week in the world of vegan retail. A commonly used vegan "gelatin" has come under attack for not being as animal-free as the label states, which is bad news for us marshmallow lovers. This Article made it's way around the vegan community like wildfire, and caused us as well as our friendly online competition to have to pull our vegan marshmallows that include this "gelatin" as an ingredient. The Emes gel may very well be vegan, and that's the story the company is sticking with, but we can't run the risk of selling a non-vegan product for credibility reasons. So that sucks for us, since the marshmallows are one of our biggest sellers. Luckily, we still have the tasty Ricemellow Creme to fill the deep, deep void that vegans seem to have due to the loss of marshmallows in their lives.
Speaking of Ricemellow Creme! Christy is coming over tomorrow for a day of hanging out and eating smores. It should be nice, because her and I both focus on work and other duties a lot, and don't get to just chill out together very often. I do wish her husband would go on a damn vacation with her once. I mean, after 14 years of marriage, you would think he would want to go do something fun and relaxing. We'll see how relaxed he feels after Christy's head explodes all over the house because she's stressed and he won't damn go anywhere with her. Or at least help her with the housework or something. Geez.
All last week my jaw was sore and pained from clenching, grinding, biting, and whatever other nervous habit I do without noticing. I've had a click in my jaw for years, but never really any pain until recently. It was so sore, I felt grumpy most all week. My friend/chiropractor Dee adjusted it for me last night, and even though it felt even more sore afterwards, I woke up today with no pain whatsoever. Beautiful! Now if I can just control myself and not make it worse with all the nervous habits.
Let's see....what else. Ken is obsessed with the movie Sideways. It is a really good movie, no doubt. Since we Netflixed it about two weeks ago, He has probably watched it about 12 times! He can do that with pretty much any movie he likes. He never gets tired of them. It's cute.
I suppose I should get to bed now.