2005-06-25

...the dead will walk the earth

We went to see Romero's Land Of The Dead last night. It was good of course, although not nearly gory enough. Maybe he's saving the good stuff for some uncut limited edition DVD. Hmmph.
I do love me a good zombie movie. Zombie movies (George Romero's in particuliar) have a reputation for their "deeper meaning" and representation of society. To me, a good zombie movie seems to represent life in general. We're strolling along, going about our life, then some big ol' crazy shit happens that we can't control and changes everything. We are forced to live our life differently from now on. We end up being forced to make tough decisions that make our hearts hurt. (shooting our own brother because he's now a flesh eating monster?) We end up doing the best we can with what we have, and make a game out of it. We adapt and find happiness in our surroundings, even if it's not how we originally planned it. And like life, zombie movies never have super happy endings. Nothing is ever tied up and finished, only more managable....sometimes.
For the record, I don't think that negatively all of the time, only every now and then. Much less than I used to, that's for sure.
One of my therapists from years ago (the cognative one) told me that my negative thinking is a big part of my depression. I told her that I didn't consider myself negative, but a realist. She laughed and said that was what most negative thinkers say.

I'm compairing life to a zombie movie. I'm such a nerd! Next thing you know, I'll be going to sci-fi conventions. Oh, wait. I've already done that. Damn nerd.