2004-09-09

See? This is what happens when I don't update in nine days.

Nine days since I last updated, eh? Where the hell have I been?! I've been busy overeating, biting my fingernails, sneezing, kissing my boyfriend, working, and fretting, as usual.

Last weekend was Ken's birthday, and we had a great date. I took him to a fancy-schmancy new vegan restaurant called Lush , and man, was it good! It was good AND fancy. It was one of those "I don't know which fork to use, and who's that guy in the red jacket taking off with my car?" kind of places. We had some chocolate banana cream pie for dessert. How cool is that? Ken loved it too, so that's good.

Last Friday, I was scheduled to have a product training after the store closed at 8:00. This isn't that uncommon, except the trainings are usually either done during a time when the store is open, or at night at a central location where other stores can come too. I admit, I was irritated by having to stay until 9:00 on a Friday night, but I knew that I had nothing else to do really, except go home and eat dinner or something. So, 8:00 comes around, and I start to close the store. Some folks that I work with start coming in for the training, and I go in the back to use the potty. As I'm coming out, I hear "suprise!!" and all of the girls that I work with are standing there with big ass grins on their faces. That's when they kidnapped me and took me to R. Thomas for a bridal shower dinner. I seriously almost cried, it was so very sweet. I didn't know that anybody I worked with really liked me enough to actually get together and plan some kind of thing for me. I was really fun, too. More stuffing myself with good vegan food, and laughing at my boss's pregnant wife, drinking a "near-beer" and acting drunk.

Well, it's only 24 days until the wedding! Ken and I got our marriage license on Tuesday. It was quite romantic. It's in the same city courthouse where warrants are issued, and late child support is reported. We applied at the same window as you would apply for a firearm. Two birds with one stone, right? Heh. What's even more romantic is the great pamphlet that we were issued. It was titled, "Getting Married? What You Should Know About HIV". Inside, it has details on how HIV can be contracted, such as sharing tattoo needles, drug works, and through unprotected sex. There were great drawings of guys that looked like they were extras in the movie "Breakin'", rolling up their sleeves about to share a needle. There was a section on unprotected sex too, of course. The best line mentions how you should try not to make your partner bleed during sex. "Find other ways to show your love!" the pamphlet urges us.

I'm serious. It really says that. But what other ways could there possibly be?? That's the best damn pamphlet ever.

Anyway.