2004-10-13

Honeymoon, part 2


Oh! I forgot to mention where we ate breakfast the morning of the Vancouver trip! My new favorite restaurant is across the country from my house, and it's called The Globe Cafe. I knew I loved the place as soon as we walked in and heard Tom Waits being blasted from the kitchen area. They had fantastic all vegan breakfasts. I got a biscuit topped with broiled tofu, mustard, and nutritional yeast gravy. Right on.

Sorry the picture is of a half eaten breakfast. I forgot to take a picture before I dove into it's gravy covered yumminess.
Ken got a great looking plate of french toast:

Here's me looking fufilled.

The Globe also had some amazing looking cinnamon rolls the size of baby heads. But gods help me, I couldn't eat another bite. I may never forgive myself for that one. Remember, I'm a diabetic in training.
On the way to Vancouver, Ken wanted to stop in the town of Concrete. *sigh* In case you're not familiar, Concrete is the town featured in the book/movie This Boy's Life by Tobias Wolff. It was two hours out of the way, but hell, we didn't have anything else to do. The drive was scenic and pretty anyway.
Here's proof we were there:

Here's a pretty mountain near Concrete:

The next day was spent walking around Seattle and the waterfront.




We had yet another damn good vegan breakfast that morning at a place called Coffee Messiah. I didn't take any pictures inside of the place, because it was Saturday morning, and I didn't want the flash to disturb the groggy goth kids. I also didn't want to draw attention to my GAP hoodie. I am so uncool.

I had "chicken" fried tofu with gravy, and Ken had "eggs" benedict. Good times.
We also bought a cookie and a chocolate peanut butter brownie type of thing to go, which were also drool worthy.
That's pretty much the extent of our trip. We ate, shopped, smooched, and walked. And I thoroughly enjoyed myself.
The End.

Coming next week: wedding photos! I'm crossing my fingers that they will be good!