2004-10-24

Every picture tells a story

We had our first garage sale today! How very exciting. I was really looking forward to getting rid of some old stuff that has been cluttering our closets for a while now. We didn't sell nearly as much as we would have liked, but we did okay. After expenses (store bought garage sale signs and price tags), we ended up with almost a hundred bucks. I still had to carry all the stuff that didn't sell back into the house, which is always disappointing. Ah well.
What a busy week I've had. I feel like I haven't even been home for most of the time. Last weekend I got to meet some people from a veg message board that I frequent, and that was pretty cool. It's hard to know how someone will be in person if you have only talked to them online, of course, so I didn't know what to expect. Everyone ended up being friendly and social. Heh. See, that's what I usually question. It's easier to be social online than it is in person, I know that from experience. It's interesting how shy I've become over the past few years. I don't think I used to be. Anyway.
We also picked up our wedding photographs this week. They turned out beautiful, as I knew they would. Malia is an amazing photographer, and a great friend for doing the job for us so inexpensively. I will scan a few photographs when I can. It's not as easy as it sounds, because our scanner is an amazing pain in the ass to hook up and use.
Some things I noticed while looking at the wedding photos for the first time:
1. I seem to be developing a "weak" looking chin, complete with flappy skin and the popular double chin look, depending on my expression.
2. I still need braces, in fact probably more so now than ever before.
3. I look very happy and in love in every picture.
4. My husband is cute.
5. Our wedding cake puts other wedding cakes to shame, in looks as well as in taste.
6. My friend Karen had too much to drink, as noted in the photograph of her doing "Da Butt" with the bartender behind the bar.
7. Everything looked beautiful, just like I hoped that it would.

I think we need to buy a new dryer. That sucks. It's interesting how, as we were selling stuff at the garage sale today, the dryer decided to stop drying. We take in a certain amount of money, we end up having to spend at least twice as much on something else. Ack.
It's after one o'clock in the morning, and I'm not tired. My sleep schedule is all screwed up from a big-ass nap I took this afternoon. Maybe I'll go make myself some tea.