2004-12-30

I feel like throwing up, but in a good way

I'm really looking forward to another three day weekend coming up. I'm so sick of being at my work, I can hardly stand it!
The wheels are in motion, my friends. Ken and I are going to make this business shit happen. We're both very excited, and seriously nervous. Since our planned start up date is March 1st, and I plan on giving a month notice at work, that means I will be dropping that bomb on my boss in about two weeks. That should be a mighty fun time. It will give me about two weeks before the start up date to order the inventory, and stock up the basement with vegan goodies. Thinking about it right now makes me feel like throwing up, but in a good way.
We hired our artist friend Tony to design our logo, and make some ads for us. He's really talented, so we know he's going to do a great job. Now. All we need is about 300 veg*ns to order from us beginning at 7:00 AM on March 1st.
The holidays were nice, but busy. There was much running around, family visits, etc. We went to visit my mom on xmas eve at her new place. I am soooo glad she is living where she is now. It's much better than the little trailer in the middle of nowhere off of a gravel road in the mountains. Her and her sister moved into a condo, and it's really nice. I haven't seen her in such good spirits in a while. They live with a little dog, too. A cute black one that looks like it has a mustache.
Speaking of mustaches.... we watched the movie Anchorman. That was a seriously weird movie. We laughed our asses off. Man, I love netflix. There's always a movie to watch.
Among many other very nice and thoughtful presents that Ken gave me, he also got me a dangerous cookbook. It's called Sinfully Vegan, and it's all desserts. There's an entire chapter on boston cream pies! I've never even had a boston cream pie before, but they look great. There are about seven doughnut recipes, too. That's crazy. I've been trying to decide what to make to take to Ken's family's house on New Years day. I'm leaning towards either the lemon pound cake with a frosting glaze, or a yellow cake with raspberry jam between the layers and raspberry frosting. Mmmmm........
Anyway. Nothing with chocolate. I'm trying to be a good girl and not eat chocolate since the acid reflux has been bothering me. What kind of cruel joke are the gods playing on me with that one?