2005-06-16

Some boring stuff and only a tiny bit of period talk

Oooouucch.
Monthly period pain probably wouldn't be so bad if we didn't have to go through our normal daily routine during the worst of it. If it were like the olden days,when ladies got "The Curse" and stayed holed up in their rooms, not showering, swimming, or anything else, then that might be alright. We could just lay about with our hands to our foreheads, all dirty and cranky by ourselves.
But no, I must venture out for groceries today. And clean the house, for we have company coming over today. One of my old friends from the lab called me yesterday and told me that he had been laid off. I can't believe they had anyone else TO lay off! But that place tends to suck the life out of people, so I'm sure he will be much better off. We get to meet his girlfriend tonight, too. He's a pretty cool guy, so I'm sure she's even cooler.
I predict that we will get an order today. There. I said it. Now it has to happen!
It's been so damned hot lately. yesterday was 90 degrees and super humid. Ken accurately described running outside as "Running through soup". I hate this weather. Moe is so hot, he's been laying on the harwood floor with his belly pointing towards the ceiling fan. We have air conditioning of course, but it really doesn't work very well during the super hot times. This house is old, with original (and poorly insulated) windows. I love our house, but this sucks.
I've resorted to talking about the weather in my diary. I'm now officially boring.
We watched a show called 30 Days last night. It's Morgan Spurlock's new show on FX. (Thanks for the reminder call, Liz!) I have a non-romantic crush on Morgan Spurlock. Mostly for his brilliant documentary Super Size Me, and partly for the fact that his fiance is a vegan chef. Also, he seems like a really nice guy. Anyway, the first episode of 30 Days was he and his fiance trying to live on minimum wage. They moved to a city in Ohio, had to find an apartment within their budget, and find minimum wage jobs. As you could probably predict, it was damn difficult. Especially when each of them got sick and had to have emergency room visits with no insurance. I have no idea what the other episodes are going to be like.
Okay. That's it for now.