2005-07-12

a clean bill of oral health, and some sad little moos

I had my last two cavities filled today. My LAST TWO! After the dentist was finished, he said, "We don't have anything else to do with you. All of your work is finished. We'll see you at your next checkup." I've been waiting my entire adult life to hear that! See, I went most of my childhood without dental care. Well, I was taken to the dentist by my mother up until about fourth grade. After that, my parents were divored and my mom couldn't afford dental care anymore. (don't ask about the sad little child support payments...that's a different entry). Once I aquired my own insurance around the age of 20, I decided to try and take care of the 10 years of neglect. That turned out to be more difficult than I thought it would be, since dental insurance only seemed to cover small percentages of costly procedures. I paid to have all four wisdom teeth removed, which with my insurance cost me about $400. I paid for a root canal where my percentage was $700. I had various checkups here and there, only to have dentists tell me that I needed thousands of dollars more work done. I was to the point where I just assumed my teeth would eventually rot out of my head. Until I married my beloved husband, who has really good dental insurance. In the past nine months I have had nine more cavities filled, and now it's officially OVER.
Whoo! What a nice feeling.
Speaking of that.... can you believe it's been nine months since Ken and I got married? The time has really flown by. It's been over four months since we started the business, too. That's amazing.
I hope the rain is finally over for a little while. The hurricane that hit our friends in the south actually caused some trouble here in the land-locked metro Atlanta area. A large creek in West Cobb raged and took out hundreds of people's homes. We just don't see that kind of stuff here. Tornados are usually more our thing. I was watching news footage of people standing on their roofs waiting to be rescued, guys swimming with cats and dogs on their shoulders, and trees that had uprooted and smashed into bedrooms, killing people while they slept. There was footage of some cows that were up to their noses in water, crying out with some sad little "moo"s, then eventually going under. I cried like a damn baby. Did they have to show live footage of the cows drowning? I bet they would have shown those poor people being killed in their sleep, if they had the footage. Now I remember why I don't usually watch the news.
Anyway, I hope all of you in the stormy areas are safe and okay.