2005-09-12

four years and still nothing interesting to say

This week, it will be four years since I started writing in this diary. At first, it was meant to be a proactive approach to my depression treatment. I got the idea out of some magazine that suggested journaling, and listed DLand and a few other free online diary sites. I also remember feeling especially numb and tired from the goings on in the world at the time, with the 9/11 attacks being on the brain and all around.
Kinda like how I've been feeling since hurricane Katrina hit. It's too easy for me these days to sink deep after constantly looking at photographs of the victims and the destruction. I can't even begin to imagine how the people there are handling things. I mean, I get stressed out and anxious if I have more than four things to do in a day. I don't know how one could possibly handle having their house and belongings underwater, their friends and companion animals missing or dead, and nowhere to sleep or shit. In fact, it amazes me how much some folks can handle.
Anyway.
For a couple that's usually kind of anti-social, we were quite the butterflies this weekend. After I got off of work on Saturday, we met some friends from out of town for bowling. As usual, I suck as a bowler. It's still pretty fun, though. Ken says that I "chuck" the ball. Well, yeah. I'm throwing a ten pound ball. And since I'm vegan and eat zero protein*, I have no muscles and that ball is damned heavy. So what if I chuck it?
Today we met four people we don't know for lunch at a mediocre veg chinese restaurant. It was another one of those meetup things, for vegetarians. It was pretty cool, though. Everyone was nice.
I hate to say it, but I'm glad that I'm home alone tomorrow. Sometimes I really need some solitude to quiet my head.
Let's see... what else? Oh! Last week at work I received a free copy of a book from a customer. I had helped an elderly couple find some things, and was making small talk with them. The man asked me what church I went to. (oh crap, here we go.) I told him that I don't go to church. It was at that point that he looked as though I had slapped him. He said, "If I give you a book, would you promise to read it?" I very nicely told him that I love books (the curiousity was killing me!). He went to his car, and came back with a book he had written. Apparently the guy is an evangelist who specializes in potentially "satanic" activities in today's culture. The couple left me with this book, and man, I honestly haven't laughed that hard in a long time. Of course at first I was a little miffed at how the man automatically assumed I needed saving, but honestly I don't care too much about what strangers think of me anymore. So he thinks I'm going to hell for not going to church? Since I don't believe in hell (or sin, for that matter) I really could care less.
But back to the book! Oh, how amazing it is. I know that there are people out there who honestly believe that Harry Potter books are evil. I have heard of this. But this man also believes that anyone who pratices yoga or karate are opening themselves up to the devil due to the "eastern spiritualism" involved. Seriously! YOGA AND KARATE! Of course heavy metal music was discussed in the book as well. That chapter might be my favorite. Because everybody knows that David Lee Roth is one of satan's minions (yes, DLR was mentioned by name...for whatever reason. Maybe for those ass-bearing pants he wore in the "Yankee Rose" video.) Also mentioned in the book are those classic gateways to hell, the ouija boards and the tarot cards.
Basically I discovered that I'm a doomed sinner. Amen to that!
Okay. It's late now. Time for bed.


(*this is just a silly vegan joke. Of course I eat protein! At least 60 grams a day, I swear.)