2005-10-04

"Yes, I love that man of mine"

I love my husband.

He calls me silly pet names, rubs my shoulders, kisses me on the clavicle, sings falsetto just to be funny, loves our cat, treats me with respect, tells me I'm beautiful, makes a mean pasta dish, is as smart as he is handsome, loves me even though I'm crazy, loves cake as much as I do, is level headed yet spontaneous, is my rock, is my roll, is the best guy ever.... Basically I'm just really lucky to have found him. We got married one year ago today! It seems like only a week has gone by. So much has happened over the past year. We've become even closer. We started a business together. I'm ready for the next eighty or so years, because I know I get to spend it with Ken.
So, following the tradition, we ate part of the top piece of our wedding cake today. It's been in a deep-freeze at Ken's parent's house since that night a year ago, when a caterer wisked it away and wrapped it up with the rose petals still sprinkled on top. Much to our suprise, it really didn't taste half bad. Even year old chocolate cake is still chocolate cake, after all. My heart string was pulled a little when I opened up the box and saw the red rose petals still intact, and the red satin ribbon around it's base. I spent so much time planning every little wedding detail, and yet the petals, the ribbon, and everything else was just a whirlwind on the night that we danced to Patsy Cline, Etta James, Tori Amos, Tom Waits, and more. Over a year's worth of planning and all I could really think about that night was the man who somehow came to the conclusion that I was the sole person who he wanted to spend the rest of his life with. It still blows my mind. I really, really love that man.
In other news, Ken and I had the pleasure of being interviewed on the Vegan Freak Podcast . We are such dorks! Bob and Jenna are really cool people, especially to put up with our babbling for about 20 minutes. It was a lot of fun, so go listen to it!
It's about 2:00 in the morning now, but I'm super wired. I had a coke. (gasp!) But I need to try and sleep anyway. So until next time...