2006-01-02

2006? Already? Whoa.

Geez, It's been a while. Sorry 'bout that. December has been such a whirlwind, I barely had time to breathe. In an attempt to catch you up without boring you to death, here's a rundown of my month in handy, bulletized form:

  • I worked at the HFS from open to close every day during the week of christmas while the girls were out of town. It sucked, but at the time I felt it was worth it because we really need the extra money.

  • When the girls came back, they told me that they didn't want me to work at all the week of New Years. There went our "extra money", right out the freaking window. Figures.

  • Cosmo's business went through the roof during the holidays, which was, of course, awesome.

  • Ken and I decided to not buy presents for each other this year since we don't really have the money. On christmas day my very sweet husband gave me a portable MP3 player anyway. I love it. It was a rotten trick, but I got him back by buying him the last season of The Sopranos on DVD.

  • He also got me some funny monkey socks .

  • Christy was too nice and got me a gift card to my favorite clothing store, and a pair of crazy cat lady socks. (Sorry, no picture of those yet.)

  • I was constantly reminded that I live and work in bible country by HFS customers wearing buttons that read, "Please wish me a MERRY CHRISTMAS." I played nice and kept my eye rolling to a minimum. Wish me a Merry Christmas all you want, but please don't demand (via a passive-agressive button) I say something to you. Maybe I like saying "Happy Holidays". Geez.

  • An adult woman at the HFS asked me what maple syrup is. She seemed normal enough, so I thought I misunderstood the question. "What is this?" She asked, holding a bottle of maple syrup. "Um, it's maple syrup" I replied. "What is maple syrup?" She continued. "....it's a sugary sap that comes from maple trees. You can use it on pancakes and waffles, and in baking. It's delicious" I told her. Then she said, "I use Log Cabin on my pancakes. Is it the same as Log Cabin?" I told her that Log Cabin was simply corn syrup, caramel coloring, and maple flavoring. "Log Cabin pretends to be real maple syrup. Real maple syrup is much better tasting." To which she replied, "Well Log Cabin is cheaper." and she returned the bottle to the shelf.

  • This same lady had a crazy acting son (around 10 years old) that was running around the store like it was his own personal playground. He came up to his mom holding a squash from the produce department and said, "Mom, what IS this?" His mom replied "I don't know..." and looked at me for the answer. I'm really not trying to be mean, but what rock has this family been living under where they have no idea what maple syrup or squash is? From the sound of their accent they were obviously locals. Maple syrup and squash are plentiful 'round these parts.

  • Ken and I are still going to the gym fairly regularly. I'm pretty proud of myself considering I'm not a fan of exercise. I haven't lost any weight because I'm eating everything in my sight, but I'm actually getting firmer arms, legs and butt. Weird.

  • My depression has been looming overhead for a few weeks, but I've been too busy to notice it very much. It's making me want to sleep fourteen hours a day and binge eat. I've been doing both, and I'm having a hard time keeping the binge eating within my control. It's kind of scaring me.

  • Christmas at the family's was very nice. Lots of food, gifts, and watching our two year old niece do cute things. Always an enjoyable time.

  • On New Year's Eve, Ken and I made reservations for the New Year's Buffet at Cafe Sunflower . It was amazingly good. Collard greens with parsnips, black eyed pea soup, pot stickers, vegetable paella, spinach ravioli, salad, chocolate cake.....ugh. So good. Then we went home and hung out like we normally do on New Years Eve.

I'm sure that isn't everything that has happened, but it's been too long. I should write more often so I don't forget stuff. My memory isn't what it used to be.
I hope everyone has a wonderful 2006! We are certainly going to try.