2002-10-13

I'll blame Elizabeth Hurley

Six days... Geez. Sorry, I didn't realize it had been that long since I wrote here. I've had a crazy week, but it's been a pretty good week. For one thing, I got a new car. I want to repeat that.

I GOT A NEW CAR!

Yay! The girl who wears the scarlett "B" on her credit reporting sleeve managed to get financing for a 2000 Honda Civic. Not very good financing of course, but you know, whaddayagonna do?

Sorry. Too much Sopranos on TV I guess.

Anyway, my old car was fucked, and this one is a sweetie pie of a car. It's the color of an eggplant, too. That's right, I have a purple car. Well, it's sort of purple. Not purple enough for it to look like a pimp car or anything. I'm sure Christy 's husband will be thrilled about not having to work on my old Neon anymore.

That's right, a Neon. Now do you understand why I'm so happy about a new Honda??

So, on Tuesday night, Christy and I took the first ride in the new car, to see the Joan Osbourne show at the Variety Playhouse. I have never been frightened to park my car in little five points before, but this time I was just sure that a homeless person was going to poop on the hood of my new car. Luckily when we got back to the car, there was no feces to speak of. The show was pretty good though. Very mellow.

When Christy got to my house, she was feeling pretty low. I don't see her depressed very often, it's usually me with the emotional stuff going on. But she's had problems with her complexion since she was in middle school, and on Tuesday she was extra upset about it. She has felt "ugly" alot lately to the point of not wanting to leave the house. I told her that it wasn't as bad as she thought, but I understand how it feels. Christy is an absolutely beautiful girl. Wherever we go, I see men fixate on her, even though she doesn't notice. She has about a pound of long, naturally blonde hair and a great, trim figure. My best friend is a kind, and beautiful woman. I hope that one day she feels good about herself again, because I know how much pain those kinds of feelings can bring.

Low self esteem sucks. I've been the same way for years.

I'm sure that many women go through the exact same thing. It's difficult not to, with all of the magazines and television shows telling us what fat is, and how important looks are. I hate to blame the media, but you know there is something to that. Women are expected to be strong, independant, and beautiful all at once, and that's alot of pressure for anybody.

Okay, I think I'm done. I'll blame Elizabeth Hurley. That woman needs to eat a sandwich.